Jolin Tsai, Stefanie Sun and JJ Lin’s shocking snubs at GMA2015

Fans are outraged that the 26th Golden Melody Awards nominees list has been announced with their favourites missing their “rightful spot”

Jolin Tsai, Stefanie Sun and JJ Lin’s shocking snubs at GMA2015

The 26th Golden Melody Awards nomination list was announced in a press conference on Monday (May 18).

Local songbird Stefanie Sun, who was previously touted as a hot favourite for the major prizes, has surprisingly been nominated for only one award. Last year’s “Best Male Singer” winner JJ Lin also shockingly failed to make the list this time around.

Netizens also expressed their disbelief about Mandopop queen Jolin Tsai’s absence from the “Best Female Singer” nomination list. “Did you miss something? Jolin Tsai isn’t on there,” a netizen wrote.

However, Jolin still is the top contender for the awards with a whopping nine nominations this year, including “Best Song of the Year” and “Best Mandarin Album” for her album Play.

Although she will miss out on the coveted “Best Female Singer” trophy, Jolin said that she is happy about the other nominations because they are a recognition of her team’s efforts. “The whole team is happy. I have no regrets [about not getting nominated for “Best Female Singer”]. It only fuels my motivation to improve,” she asserted.

On the other hand, Lala Hsu, A-Mei, A-Lin, Karen Mok and Waa Wei will be vying for top honours this year. As for the men, Jacky Cheung, Eason Chan, Khalil Fong, William Wei and Roger Yang are in the running for “Best Male Singer”.

The 2015 Golden Melody Awards will be held on 27 June at the Taipei Arena.

26th Golden Melody Awards Nomination List

Best Mandarin Male Singer Category:

Jacky Cheung (Wake Up Dreaming)
Eason Chan (Rice & Shine)
Khalil Fong (Dangerous World)
William Wei (Some Fear)
Roger Yang (Beast in the Dark)

Best Mandarin Female Singer Category:

Lala Hsu (Search Notice)
Waa Wei (Still Want To Believe in Love)
A-Mei (Faces of Paranoia)
Karen Mok (Departures)
A-Lin (Guilt)

Best Mandarin Album Category:

Jolin Tsai (Play)
Lala Hsu (Search Notice)
Jacky Cheung (Wake Up Dreaming)
Eason Chan (Rice & Shine)
Jay Chou (Aiyo, Not Bad)
Karen Mok (Departures)

Best Song of the Year Category:

Jolin Tsai (‘Play’)
Lala Hsu (‘Search Notice’)
Jacky Cheung (‘The Rest of Time’)
A-Mei (‘Faces of Paranoia’)
Fire Ex (‘Island’s Sunrise’)

Related articles:
Jolin Tsai is open to pregnancy before marriage
Stefanie Sun duets with A-Mei

Report a problem